My 2nd Pat Griskus Sprint Triathlon is Today!!!!!!

Hi Friends!!!

Well, here we are again, one year later and all revved up for the” Pat Griskus Sprint Triathlon” today!!!  I am having the usual “Why did I get myself into this” jitters agaain!  This year my totally awesome14 year old nephew Ryan is doing the 10.5 mile bike portion & I am doing the 1/2 mile lake swim and then the5k, which my wonderful husband Rick will be accompanying me on!  Ryan just got a new racing bike on July 4th and has been riding between his baseball playoff games.  It’s his first triathlon so naturally I am a little nervous for him.  I am so happy that he is particpating in this event and I think I’m actually more excited for him than I am for myself!!  I really think he might just take to it and continue to do them for years to come!!!

As for me in today’s event, my nerves are rattled and I have a slight case of shin splints on my right leg (probably from walking the 5k route on Monday) Maybe I should have passed on that, but alas what’s done is done and I will just hot pack my shin and give it some good stretching !  I don’t feel like its too bad so all should be okay, I hope!  My other usual aches are with me today as well, they are my constant companians, but  “To Hell With Them!!!”  This is THE GRISKUS!!!  The adreniline will take care of trhose nasty rascals!! 

I am so excited and honored to be a participant in this awesome triathlon because Pat Griskus inspires me on a daily basis.  His “Never Give Up Attitude” even when the worst happens, creates a light to guide those after him through dark times. Pat is the light at the end of the “ReAbled Athletes” tunnel.  I can feel his presence encouraging and inspiring me in my daily workouts, the charity 5ks that I do and at his triathlon!  Sometimes when I am swimming at 6 o’clock in the morning and I am dragging,  I humorously think “WWPGD” (What Would Pat Griskus Do?) and that makes me smile and giggle underwater and I know the answer so I kick it into high gear and thank him for the constant inspiration and encouragement!   

I just want to say in closing, Thanks Ryan for joining me today and I hope you LOVE it!!!  Thanks from the bottom of my heart to all of the volunters who help put this together and pull it of seemlessly every year!  Thanks to Pat’s incredible wife and daughter for your neverending  Love and support for Pat and all the athletes, and finally Thank You  Pat for inspiring me and countless others to keep on going!

I hope you can all come out to Quassy Amusement park in Middlebury, CT. today @ 6pm to see this totally fun and inspiriring event!!! xoxoxo!!!

About reabledathlete

I became disabled & legally blind pn 11-29-05 in a catastrophic car accident, my injuries were: a contrs-coup brauin injury, stroke, 4 dissected arteries in my neck, broken collarbone, punctured & collapsed left lung, 2 spinal bleeds, a couple of cracked ribs and a lacerated liver and a 23 day coma! I am also a cervical cancer survivor since 2001! After years of hard work & determination I have Re-Abled my body & mind and I am confident that i will continue to do even better! I want to encourage and inspire others (disabled or fully abled) who may face similar challenges in their own lives and also want to Re-Able themselves!! I would also like to meet people who are interested in participating in or volunteering for athletic events1 Please contact me if you are interested in learning more about the events I participate in or to learn more about my journey!!
This entry was posted in Cancer Survivor, Inspirational, reabledathlete, Triathlete, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My 2nd Pat Griskus Sprint Triathlon is Today!!!!!!

  1. Mark Jaffee says:

    Tanya
    Have fun. Can’t wait to watch you swim and run during another milestone night.
    Take care, Mark Jaffee

Leave a comment